When Can I Write Poetry?

The poets would say

Out of the fire, into the lion’s den

I’ve gotten a crazy idea that I know what they mean

But have I got the right to say it too?

After all, I’ve never been a poet

But I really like to mope of it

Years and years I have been through

Words and words I have written

Forcing for class

Ending with crass

Could it all have been…

Unavailing?

From time and time I forget though

That in fine art, it isn’t the aesthetic form – the purpose

But the soul of the artist written in their own secret

So may I not be a poet

But let me set my soul in an oeuvre of my own

Leave a Reply

